On knitting and other weird things…

So….I have a confession:

I love to knit.

I know, I know that brings up images of a 70 year old white-haired grandma in a rocker with a cat perched on her shoulders.

knitting-cat

(Above: not me I swear)

I’ve heard it already I promise…mostly from my (not-so) little brother. That’s not me, but there is something so entrancing about knitting and crocheting. It is so repetitive and mesmerizing, and at the end you are left with this beautiful piece of artwork that has so much love and patience poured into it. It’s truly amazing; if you haven’t tried it, do. You won’t regret it.

Anyways, I also love to read. Just recently I’ve been immersed in an audiobook (I know, technically not reading, but that friends is a conversation for another time) called “Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore”.

Image

If you haven’t read it (or listened to it?) I would recommend it. It is a great light-hearted book about life and a quest to solve a very old cryptogram…who wouldn’t? So towards the end of the book our narrator visits a little place called “The Museum of Knitting Arts and Embroidery Sciences”. Naturally, I Googled it…which, if you’ve read the book, provokes it’s own chuckle.

Sadly, this place does not exist. I definitely would have made a trip out to the Bay Area to find it because, well, I’m a dork. I did, however, find this picture posted on someone’s twitpic page:

Image

http://twitpic.com/arsvzq.

Sometimes it’s very satisfying to know that I am not the only ridiculous knitting, wannabe quest taking cryptographer reading an obscure book, looking up the most random place in the story and hoping it is real. Thank you fellow knitting, puzzle-loving readers for being awesome just like me 😉

XOs

Follow on Bloglovin

2 responses to “On knitting and other weird things…

Leave a Reply

