Oh, to have more time…

Today’s official NaBloPoMo prompt is “What do you wish you had more time to do each day?”

Simple answer: So. Many. Things.

If I had more time each day I would definitely cook meals at home. One of the healthiest and most effective weight loss strategies I’ve ever employed was cooking for myself. When I cook for myself at home I eat very clean, lean, wholesome foods and I make enough to bring them with me everywhere so I don’t depend on eating out. I love cooking, but I loathe the clean-up, and especially how time consuming the whole process can be.

An absolutely blissful day for me includes sitting on the couch (with some sort of steamy beverage) marathon knitting while watching TV or hanging out with family/friends. They all like to tease me for being an old grandma, but at least I’m not reading or playing on my phone. I’m still available and attending to conversations. I definitely would be knitting more with more time each day.

Sometimes I forget how much I miss my Lbean until we get a moment to do a video call. We text and chat all day long most of the time, and it’s easy to take for granted the fact that we talk all the time. Yet there is something so very different about seeing his face. It never fails to make me smile and improve my day 1000X. Obviously, it’s also very different to see him in person, but that’s simply not possible every day. I’d definitely get more face time with him every day if there was more time.

I also wish I had more time to devote to social activities. Often, I am faced with the choice of being social or being healthy. There just aren’t enough hours in the day to hit both all the time, and I so wish there were. Sometimes a girl just needs a happy hour to get through the middle of the week. These can’t always perfectly align with rest days…try as I may.

All week long I feel like I’m running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off. I’m constantly pulled in many different directions trying to balance work, family, friends, and health. Often, what I most want in the world is to be able to go off and do something just for myself. Knitting, reading, getting a mani/pedi, treating myself to dinner (I’m totally the one sitting in the back, alone, with a book and a glass of wine…don’t stare it’s impolite) are all good ones. Usually, when I make time for these things, though, I feel like I’m just getting behind schedule for all the other things I need to be doing.

What I really need is for someone to figure out how I can stop sleeping without negative side-effects. If I could be up for 20 hours straight without fatiguing…dude, I’d get so much done. That’s really the key anyways. I don’t knit when I get home from work and the gym because I’m too mentally drained…which leads to mistakes. I don’t read after work because I’ve been staring at a computer screen for 10+ hours and my vision is just done son. I don’t treat myself to dinner much because if I go out to eat after I finish working out I’d be eating around 10pm. I try not to v-chat with Lbean at night because there’s a 2 hour time difference, and I will inevitably end up staying up past midnight. Makes for a no bueno day the next day.

My dad likes to tell me that there is always a choice. I make a choice on how to spend my time every minute of the day. I struggled (still do most of the time) with this concept. I don’t feel like working is a choice, it’s a necessity for basic living. Yet, where I work, the hours I work, how strenuous my work day is, are all products of choice. And they’re choices based on a lifestyle I choose to supply money for, and how accomplished and challenged I choose to be from that work. I don’t feel like family nights are a choice, they are necessary for the relationships I have with each family member, but it is still my choice to foster those relationships. I choose to knit because it makes me happy, but feel it’s a “necessity” for my twitchy fingers. I choose to workout because I want to look and feel a certain way, but I feel it’s also a necessity for looking and feeling that way. I choose to have friends, but they’re a “necessity” so I don’t go cray cray. I choose to go to bed at 10 so I don’t feel completely useless the next day.

Having enough time to choose the wants in addition to the “necessities”…now that is gold right there. Call me when you figure it out please.

XOs

 

2 responses to “Oh, to have more time…

  1. I LOVE marathone knitting and mainlining some TV show or other to catch up on. Just finished socks and know some mitten caps for my fingerless gloves. To cold. Thank you for stopping by. I look forward to more of your site.

Leave a Reply

