NaBloPoMo – Humility

Today’s NaBloPoMo prompt is related to a quote from C.S. Lewis. “Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it’s thinking of yourself less.” How good are you at placing others before yourself?

That is kind of tricky to answer.

What I lean towards saying is I put those that are constantly on my radar before myself, absolutely. I am the person who wants to make sure that everyone is happy, everyone is having fun, everyone is being included. But the phrase “on my radar” is where it breaks down a little.

I work really hard to see my parents (both sets), my siblings, my Lbean, and my Houston friends as much as possible. I try to make sure that they are happy with the amount of time I spend on them and with them (they almost never are – probably because I’m so hardcore awesome…see? totally humble). They are the forefront of my radar.

What I’m not so good with are the people who are less nuclear to my everyday life. My extended family, far-flung friends (there are lots of those), and sometimes even new acquaintances or people I’d like to know better. After making sure all the people listed above are as happy as they can be with the amount of presence I have in their lives I rarely even have time for myself, let alone time to call my friend who lives in another state with their own nucleus of people to keep happy.

I’d like to say I do it out of respect for their time, but it’s super not true. I really just legitimately forget about the people that I don’t have constant interaction with. Even with all of the social media tools we have at our disposal now, I’m basically the worst friend in the world :-p

I will definitely be working on that, but in answer to the question I believe it’s a pretty solid yes. I put many people before myself, there’s just not room for absolutely everybody to go first, or second.

XOs

2 responses to “NaBloPoMo – Humility

Leave a Reply

